Nick Kyrgios kicks off at umpire during Wimbledon second round – 'You already called game'


Nick Kyrgios didn’t take long in his second-round match against Filip Krajinovic to start speaking out against the umpire. The Aussie was at the centre of controversy in his first-round match against Paul Jubb after growing annoyed at members of the crowd, as a well as one of the line judges.

He needed all five sets to get past the Brit to set up a second-round clash against No 26 seed Krajinovic.

Kyrgios won the only encounter between the pair on the ATP Tour back in 2015 in Portugal.

And Court 2 was packed to see Kyrgios in action with the Aussie having a strong chance of a deep run at Wimbledon.

He got off to a strong start with Krajinovic struggling to cope with Kyrgios’ strong serve, and the 27-year-old quickly had two break points on his opponent’s serve.

Krajinovic eventually hit wide to hand Kyrgios the early break with the umpire calling game.

But the umpire then announced a challenge to the bemusement of Kyrgios.

“You already called game,” he said. “You can’t challenge that.”

We’ll be bringing you the very latest updates, pictures, and video on this breaking news story.

For the latest news and breaking news visit:/sport

Stay up to date with all the big headlines, pictures, analysis, opinion, and video on the stories that matter to you.

Follow us on Twitter @DExpress_Sport – the official Daily Express & Express.co.uk Twitter account – providing real news in real-time.

We’re also on Facebook @DailyExpressSport – offering your must-see news, features, videos, and pictures throughout the day to like, comment, and share from the Daily Express, Sunday Express, and Express.co.uk.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.